Wandering through the realms of the cosmos, pondering its huge vastness

Astronomy through Poetry

I was searching for astronomy-related blogs, but instead I found these two very nice poems,  with cute pictures of the moon and night sky. With the permission of its author, I thought of sharing them with everyone😀

Night Sky

by Chloe Richmond*

The moon had a pale, mischievous smile
upon its whitish lips
it thought the stars were playing up
as they sparkled like distant ships

The sky less dark, the sky less black
and not so overcast
the moon did yawn
his eyes did blink
as the stars took down their masts

== § § § § § § § § § § § § ==

Release Your Dreams

by Chloe Richmond*

Once upon a moonbeam
where dreams are made
and bright stars gleam
think about life
and what it means,
evidently not always what it seems

Quit focusing on the minutiae
see instead the vastness and try
to know in its’ beauty
your destiny is aligned
your ability to achieve is just as high
as the jewels cast in that star-dripping sky
so trust in your ability
to let yourself fly

*Chloe writes good poems🙂 You can check her other works in her blog, Writing Days — Happy Days.

6 responses

  1. I’ve really liked what piece of art you have presented here. I really really felt that your poems are very beautiful indeed. you just should try to keep on improving and improving. As now I’ve grown old, I don’t know how far your thoughts can go, but as I was a writer when I was young, I know that you will do well. For now, just continue what you are doing and surely you will achieve something in future.

    Keep it up!!

    February 22, 2011 at 7:21 pm

    • Hi Nancy🙂

      Thanks but these poems are not mine. They were written by Chloe Richmond. With her permission, I reposted her nice works here in my blog. You could visit her site (indicated above) to view her other poems.



      February 25, 2011 at 1:44 am

  2. Hello cosmicwanderer05,

    just come back from the beach and read your poem…

    your ability to achieve is just as high
    as the jewels cast in that star-dripping sky
    so trust in your ability
    to let yourself fly

    That’s a kind statement and is inspiring me.


    September 5, 2010 at 10:54 pm

  3. As someone who knows almost nothing about astronomy (other than vague references I can remember from Intro to Astronomy in college 20 years ago), after reading this easy to understand guide and the fun tidbits about getting started, I feel confident that I am now prepared to take a stab at the skies with my new little telescope.Thanks to your explanations about the choices available within my price range for a new telescope, I feel good about the decision I’ve made for what kind of scope I should start with, what kind of mount, a few other accessories, and even where I want to begin looking. The price of this book probably saved me a couple hundred dollars in making a better decision about what to buy and what not to buy to get going.

    September 4, 2010 at 3:31 pm

  4. Chloe

    Oh, thanks for posting this on your blog. I really appreciate that! Chloe xx

    August 25, 2010 at 7:52 am

    • My pleasure🙂 Hope you’ll write more poems pertaining to the night sky. Good luck!

      August 26, 2010 at 12:20 pm

Leave a Reply

