Wandering through the realms of the cosmos, pondering its huge vastness

The Sky at Night from Bohol, Philippines

As what I have written in a previous post, I love the month of October when it comes to skygazing😀 It is mainly because during this month, my favorite Orion Constellation family starts become prominent in the evening sky, and the sky is fairly clear. However, several typhoons hit the northern part of the Philippines — where I reside — during last month. It even rained during the peak of the famous Orionid Meteor Shower that most people where not able to observe it. Global Warming and Climate Change might have really changed today’s weather patterns.😦

Good thing, a friend was able to go to a beautiful island located in the southern part of the country and he shared his experience of seeing the stunning view of the starry sky there.

Bohol is one of the most popular tourist destination in the Philippines with its nice beaches and numerous attractions like The Chocolate Hills, The Philippines Tarsier, a number of very old churches (dating back to the early years of the Spanish colonization), historical monuments, caves, waterfalls, and more. But apart from these, what I personally love most about this place is its nice beautiful night sky (which I have just seen through photographs :P). I would definitely like to visit this place soon.

Panglao Island, where my friend Andre Obidos stayed, is located just southwest of the capital, Tagbilaran City.


Andre preparing his camera set up during dusk.*

Unlike in Manila, the sky in Bohol is so much less light polluted and very ideal for skygazing. Moreover, the rain clouds from the typhoon which raged the country for weeks did not reached this part.

Andre took a lot of images of the night sky from there and with his permission, I compiled some of the best shots which were taken during the night of Oct. 20 and 22, 2010 into a slideshow below.


This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Camera used: Canon PowerShot SX20 IS




*image courtesy of Rebecca Obidos

4 responses

  1. Samual Lahue

    Love this article. Keep on posting. I’m a follower.

    December 20, 2010 at 1:51 pm

  2. Michael

    Ah, Orion close to the zenith, amongst palm trees … looks heavenly! I’ve never been to the tropics proper, but I lived in subtropical South Texas for a couple of years in the 1990s. Sometimes I missed seeing the snow, but I never missed the cold, one single bit …

    Very nice shots! I’m curious about the Oct 20 lunar photos. I have a virtually identical Moon photo taken 4:44 UTC on the 20th. I couldn’t detect any parallax, but there would be less because it was about midnight here. But I’m curious about the time, since it must have been just a few hours after mine.

    The shot of the Orion Nebula is especially impressive!

    November 29, 2010 at 7:53 pm

  3. Pingback: World Spinner

Leave a Reply

