Wandering through the realms of the cosmos, pondering its huge vastness

Young Moon – December 07, 2010

The thin waxing crescent Moon (1.8% illuminated) shared the western sky with the planet Mercury (not visible due to the thick clouds) at dusk last December 7, 2010.

Every 29 1/2 days, the Moon completes one lunar cycle (new moon to new moon) in its orbit around the Earth. For the last few days of the cycle we have an “old moon” and then just after New Moon we have the chance  to see a “young moon”, a very thin crescent moon, just like this one, above the horizon after the Sun goes down.


Image taken from the PAGASA Astronomical Observatory Sundeck at 6:54 PM PST using my 8.0 megapixel Kodak C813 digital camera.


11 responses

  1. Hi there! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I really enjoyed reading this.

    January 8, 2011 at 7:08 am

  2. Dan Carter

    You got a really useful blog I have been here reading for about an hour. I am a newbie and your success is very much an inspiration for me.

    January 2, 2011 at 3:01 pm

  3. Great post, thank you so much for sharing. Do you happen to have an RSS feed I can subscribe to?

    December 29, 2010 at 1:06 am

    • Thanks! The RSS links are on the upper part of the sidebar.🙂

      December 29, 2010 at 2:55 am

  4. May the good times and treasures of the present become the golden memories of tomorrow. Wish you lots of love, joy and happiness. MERRY CHRISTMAS.

    December 27, 2010 at 6:00 pm

  5. Pamela P.

    May joy and happiness snow on you, may the bells jingle for you and may Santa be extra good to you! Merry Christmas!

    December 27, 2010 at 3:51 am

  6. solar energy companies

    Admiring the commitment you put into your blog and detailed information you present. It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed material. Wonderful read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

    December 23, 2010 at 10:50 am

  7. Dylan Noey

    First class aid I’ve in fact used up a ton of time on this site just seeking!

    December 22, 2010 at 9:12 pm

  8. sniper

    Brilliant, cheers, I will visit again.

    December 20, 2010 at 10:16 am

  9. Allyn Nyholm

    I have built a blog and I am trying to find a new template.I got some ideas from here! You could visit my website and tell me your opinion!

    December 14, 2010 at 11:39 pm

  10. Elenora Anez

    What i find difficult is to find a blog that can capture me for a minute but you definitely add value. Keep it like this.

    December 11, 2010 at 10:47 am

Leave a Reply

