Wandering through the realms of the cosmos, pondering its huge vastness

Wave at the International Space Station

The International Space Station (ISS) has been orbiting the Earth over 15 times a day for more than ten years. Although it is about 390 km high, we can still see it from the Earth, thanks to the Sun reflecting off the solar arrays. There are various ways you can work out when it will be possible to see it from where you are, including Heavens AboveTwisstNASAESAand Over Twitter. You might also check your local weather forecast. The ISS is bright, but not bright enough to be seen through the clouds!

ISS Wave is a round-the-world wave to the humans aboard the International Space Station (ISS) by their fellow humans on the Earth to express human solidarity during the holidays. It was choreographed by a grassroots Twitter campaign (@ISSwave).

To learn more about this campaign, you may visit its website.

Last December 22, 2010, I saw the ISS pass close to Jupiter at around 6:00 PM (10:00 UT) over Marikina City. I came from the southwest and was almost as bright as Jupiter. Unfortunately, I was not able to take an image of that stunning event which is sad because as I checked earlier while writing this blog there will be no ISS pass in our area in the Philippines until February.

Anyway, here are some images of the recent ISS flyby taken from the other part of the globe, courtesy of Tavi Greiner. You can also visit her astronomy website, A Sky Full of Stars to see her other nice images.


Thank you again to Tavi for allowing me to use these two beautiful captures of the ISS and for telling me about the ISS wave campaign.🙂

Clear skies to all!

6 responses

  1. How can I get your images to show on my Blackberry?

    January 8, 2011 at 3:19 am

  2. I apologise, I live in Adelaide, South Australia and do all of my viewing from my back yard. I also have a 76mm SKYWATCHER REFLECTOR Which I often carry to a neighbouring park. It has a 1.25″ Viewer and I have mounted a 9×50 SPOTTER SCOPE onto it. I have 12×32 SAXON BINO’S, 20X60 BUSHMASTER BINO’S AND 22X36 GALILEO BINO’S which all get a good work out. Noel

    December 29, 2010 at 10:25 am

    • Thanks for sharing those tips and that awesome experience.🙂

      December 30, 2010 at 2:30 am

  3. I viewed the ISS on the same night, Dec 24th at around 2100 (local) 1030 (UT). I was looking in the region of RIGEL when the ISS zoomed into my view (Dobsonian 8″ SKYWATCHER 35 mm x 2″ Eyepiece) and I watched it all the way in a NORTH-NORTH-WESTERLY direction when it finally faded just above the HYADES in the NNW. Within 30 minutes (approx). I was treated with another surprise, I was again, searching in the vicinity of RIGEL when a SATELLITE zoomed into my view again. I still had the SKYWATHCHER 35 MM in situ and again, I suspect this was an IRIDIUM SATELLITE (AROUND THE -1.5 MARK) and it followed the exact same path as the ISS right the way until it disappeared just above the HYADES. (NNW). You certainly need to be quick – the speed that they travel at is just possible to keep them in your EYEPIECE. Clear Skies, Noel.

    December 29, 2010 at 10:21 am

  4. Thanks for promoting ISS Wave!

    December 29, 2010 at 10:06 am

  5. Pingback: Tweets that mention Wave at the International Space Station « Journey to the Stars Thanks to for letting me use her pics :) -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

