Wandering through the realms of the cosmos, pondering its huge vastness

40% Waxing Crescent Moon – April 2011

Amazed by the remarkable beauty of the Moon hanging on a perfect indigo sky one afternoon, I immediately set up the tripod and grabbed my trusty Kodak C813 8.0 megapixel digital camera to capture the view.

My camera is not suitable for taking images of distant objects such as the Moon especially during low light conditions. Nevertheless, I still tried my luck in getting a few relatively decent shots.

The Moon was nicely situated on the sky (almost directly overhead) that it appeared close to my favorite Avocado tree.🙂

Moon and the Avocados! (left) Camera setting: Flash was fired.

This 40% illuminated Moon was in the constellation Gemini during this apparition. While checking on the images, I saw that a star was visible on the upper left of the Moon — about 10 degrees away from it. After running Stellarium, I realized that it was the 1.93 magnitude star Alhena (or Gamma Geminorum)  that is located on the left foot of the Twin Pollux.

Alhena and Luna (click to enlarge). Notice also the faint earthshine on the Moon's disk.

 I really need a camera upgrade I guess.🙂 Haha!

It feels great whenever there’s great opportunity like this to take photos of the night sky.

Anyway, with or without pictures the  Moon has really never failed to amuse me.

Leave a Reply

